Reviews of Moondance in Red

Joann Swinney of Jo & Isa Loves Books reviewed Moondance in Red
 Fantastic October 26, 2014

I was gifted with this book and I just knew from the first few pages I was going to love reading this story.
First we are introduced to Maggie, she comes across as a sad soul but that was not always how she used to be, once a carefree young woman who loved an adventure, being out in the open, she married too young and to the wrong man, he really did not deserve her, she wanted to be a good wife but you will understand why this is not possible when you meet Jake ‘the husband’ if you can call him that, he comes across as a very selfish man and I am in fact being polite when I only say selfish, you will know what I mean when reading the story.
You will meet some great characters but you know there is always one favourite and mine is Mason Reid, Oh God, yes he is a God, a total alpha male, he is like Maggie’s knight in shining armour, sometimes hard to believe these men exist but no romance story is complete without secrets, secrets that can ruin a very good relationship especially when the first promise they make is to never lie to each other. I would love to tell you more about Maggie and Mason but I do not like giving out spoilers, what I will say is that this was a fantastic read, lots happening to keep you turning the page, the romance is beautiful. I will definitely recommend this book and will be reading more books from this Author in the future.
Thank you Salem Archer for a fantastic read.


Twin Sisters Rockin’ Book Reveiws reviewed Moondance in Red
 Author Salem Archer hits the ball out of the park with her debut novel Moondance in Red! September 4, 2014

Overall Rating: 5 Rockin’ ★★★★★

This is the first book in the Moondance Trilogy by debut author, Salem Archer and it is one of the best new romances that I have read this year. Her characters are real people that touch your heart and make you feel like you are a part of their lives. You will laugh, cry and feel so involved that you will not be able to put the book down until the last page is read.

Maggie Dupree cannot believe that her ex-husband was able to deceive her with his plans for their lives as a married couple. After only six months of unwedded bliss, her eyes were opened to his lies and the seed of discontent was planted. Now, four years later, she is finally free from his control and living her life the way she wanted too. Maggie knows now that she needs to pick up the dreams that Jake her ex had destroyed and find the path that she wants for her new life. Her first act of defiance was to purchase a car that her ex had sneered at, a Jetta. She loved driving her car and enjoyed taking it out and opening it up on the mountain roads around her home. A freak accident causes something extraordinary to happen, she meets a man that will change her life forever.

Mason Reid loves driving on the open mountain roads and is test driving a new car he wants to purchase when he comes across a woman that is like none he has ever met before. She is sitting on the roadside crying her eyes out because she hit a deer and when he stops to assist her, life changes for Mason. Mason has been a player and had a love them and leave them attitude until Maggie Dupree soaks his shirt with her tears. The best thing about Maggie is that she doesn’t know who he is and thinks he is just a regular guy, not the billionaire entrepreneur that he really is. Can she really want just the man and not the billionaire? Mason knows that he must tell Maggie about himself, but having her love him the man keeps him silent. Will Maggie accept both parts of Mason? Can she trust a man after the lies and deceit of her ex? When you read this beautiful love story you will find out!

Hero –Mason Reid 5 stars
Heroine –Maggie Dupree: 5 stars
Steam: 5 stars
Plot: 5 stars
Cliffhanger: Yes

Would I recommend this book: Yes! Author Salem Archer hits the ball out of the park with her debut novel Moondance in Red. This beautifully written novel shares the story of true love that is meant to be and will be regardless of the obstacles put in its path.

Would I read other books by this author: Yes! I look forward to the next novel that this author releases. She is an incredible writer with an extraordinary talent for creating real life stories.

***Received an ARC of this book from the Author in exchange for an honest review***


BookLust Blog reviewed Moondance in Red
 Beautiful debut  September 17, 2014

This review is from: Moondance in Red (Moondance Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. Which I can assuredly say, this book was spectacular! I will try to stress the beauty without giving away spoilers.
Maggie, rebel southern belle, was married to Jacob Greene at 19, 6 months into the marriage, her eyes are opened to her dear husband. He’s a wolf in sheep clothing, Nothing like she thought he was when they began dating. Here’s where I connected with Maggie and the author, southern men and what’s expected of southern women. In the south, not much has changed since the old days. Women are still expected to stay at home and raise the babies. “Barefoot and pregnant”…. All that jazz. Anyway,after 4 years of marriage, shes finally divorced. Reveling in her new found freedom, Mason runs across her. *insert swoon*
Mason comes off very arrogant, Maggie dismisses him immediately. But the gorgeous alpha is not easily shaken by the loud mouth brunette. Maggie gives him a chance despite Mason hiding nearly everything about himself. And so begins their flaming romance. A story to rival all stories. You will sweat and have a kegel workout that’ll make you squirm! Mason is the alpha males of all alpha males. He will give Christian and Gideon a run for possessiveness. But however, he’s so kind, and funny, and sweet. Let’s not forget Maggie! If you’re from the South you’ll truly understand the battles this woman has endured. Divorce in the south is highly frowned upon. You fall in love with these characters. Ms.Archer is a truly gifted writer. Its a rare gift to transport your reader into another world. And that’s exactly what you’ll receive with ms.Archer, she weaves a world you’ll never want to leave. It was truly my honor to read this debut novel, and anothing else this writer releases.
Favorite quotes from “Moondance in Red”
*turns out my unicorn was a mangy, flea-bitten,horn wearing dog.
*pretend you’re the perfect southern belle while your subconscious curses like a sailor.
*smarta*s engage.
*Mr.Reid with you I don’t need a mask, I need full body armor.
*Maggie, if you go out with any good ol’ boy as*hole, it’s gonna be me!
*let me take care of you. Tell me what causes you pain and i’ll kick its a*s. Let me make love to you like no other man can. I want you happy from now on and I’ll do everything in my power to make sure you have it.
*you don’t have to fight your battles by yourself anymore. I want to fight them with you and trust me when I say, you’ll never be alone again.


Susan Ward reviewed Moondance in Red
 I couldn’t put this book down. Read it cover to cover in one day! June 15, 2014

This is not your average romance novel. It is so much more. I read it in one day because I had to know what happened to Maggie! The writer has a beautiful narrative voice, expresses the things we all think and don’t admit, and a beautiful descriptive writing style.

Maggie may have been kicked by marriage, but this girl ain’t down. She is spunky, independent, and definitely knows what she wants. Still, as feisty as she is, she’s got to navigate through the brutal betrayal/disappointment of her first husband in order to fall in love with Mason. The author balances this tough journey wonderfully.

Authentic, spunky, and a thoroughly enjoyable read. If you want to walk the like between the classic romance style[and there are plenty of plot twists to make it unique]with thorough story, character and plot with absolutely wonderful descriptive style, and being just naughty enough; This will be a very satisfying read. Just one note: ok, really naughty but really well done sex scenes.


Fabiola Francisco reviewed Moondance in Red
 Absolutely amazing! July 26, 2014.

Oh my word! I think I’ve been rendered speechless. And that’s difficult to do. This book was absolutely amazing! The author creates a world you can jump into with the language and expressions she uses. The metaphors, similes, imagery, emotions, they all make you feel like you’ve entered Maggie and Mason’s world. You feel what the characters feel with the author’s choice of words and descriptions. I instantly fell in love with the characters.

Maggie is a sassy, southern girl I admire. She is funny, witty, sarcastic with a foul mouth that adds to her personality. I swear if she were real we’d be friends. I guess I’ll have to stick to imaginary friends. The girl is hilarious! Lauren, her best friend, says it perfectly, “Underneath that smart-ass exterior, is the sweetest person with the biggest heart.” She is SO right. Maggie has been hurt, and she struggles to trust men, but one day she meets Mason by chance and well, one look into those blue eyes and she’s captivated. Who wouldn’t be?

Mason, what can I say? I’m a sucker for those cowboys. He is strong, firm, and gorgeous. No doubt he’s been burned and also has some trust issues, creating a wedge in his relationship with Maggie. I loved how the author included his POV throughout the book also. Mason is protective, and you can’t help but fall in love with him instantly. What I love most is that he sees himself as an equal with Maggie, especially that he likes control. He’s definitely up there on my book boyfriend list.

I do love how their relationship develops. And the sex was hot! I was definitely swooning throughout this read. But what is a good romance without a little drama? It takes you for a loop ride that left my mouth hanging open. I was blindsided to say the least. Like I said before, the author puts you through an emotional journey with her words. I cannot wait for the second book to come out. Now stop reading this review and get your copy!


Terri Lyndie reviewed Moondance in Red
 A page turner to the last dance June 15, 2014

Maggie Dupree is a spitfire. Life has given her some hard times, but Maggie kicks back with gusto. She’s an endearing character I sympathized with and cared for immediately. She’s smart mouthed, fast thinking, and some of her one line zingers are so funny I laughed out loud.

Mason Reid is every girl’s dream. He’s handsome, rich, and oh so sexy. The problem is, he wants to keep his money a secret, and that proves to be a problem for earning Maggie’s trust.

The sex scenes sizzle off the pages in this smoking hot love story. I found myself smiling as I flipped the pages faster and faster. I couldn’t put this book down and read it in one day. I’ll happily read more books by this author.


Ronda F. reviewed Moondance in Red
 Debut novel hits it out of the park! July 27, 2014

AMAZING! I really enjoyed this debut novel of Salem Archer. I received this book free through Goodreads First Reads giveaway. I began reading it the day it came. I have to admit that the prologue and the first chapter (Maggie’s perspective) were a little slow. However, from chapter two (Mason’s point of view) I was hooked no matter who was narrating.

Maggie was a young wife who felt she was being treated like a maid instead of a lover; her husband openly ignored her request for time and intimacy. After the divorce, she thought that she would never trust a man again. The prologue and first chapter focused mostly on her self pity which helps the reader understand her actions later on, but this is also the reason I was not interested up to that point. In fact, I made a note in my test that she is an emotionally high maintenance woman. However, she meets Mason and her world gets turned upside down. Her heart opens as she allows this “knight” to treat her like a princess. They fall in love despite Mason keeping secrets form Maggie. Some of Mason’s secret backfire on him and both parties are crushed. Can Maggie overcome the betrayal that she feels? Can she forgive him? (I don’t want to give everything away.)

The author creates a realistic world in which a believable story unfolds. Readers are transported into the characters through the fun, witty, intense language and expressions. The strong desire between that characters really shows through the language. For example: “Oh, sweetheart, I’m going to be doing a lot more for you than that. You just don’t know it yet.” “It seems that three days ago I was inadvertently infected with some incurable disease, and this unnamed illness commandeered my brain.”

The sex was hot. They deal with a little kink, but it’s not over the top. Even people who are not into that type of intimacy would most likely not be offended by reading this novel. I enjoyed reading about the hot sex between these two as it allows to reader to experience these things for the first time right along Maggie.


Teresa reviewed Moondance in Red
Great book! July 2, 2014

This book was fantastic! I loved Maggie from the beginning and can not wait to read about her next escapade. I loved the local references used in the book as i was able to connect to them. The author had a way of placing you right inside each and every moment. Warning: You will not be able to put this book down once you start. You’ll laugh, cry and probably blush just a bit. Loved it!! Can’t wait for the next book. I am hooked!


RB reviewed Moondance in Red
Fabulous, Sensual take on boy (with a secret) meets girl June 23, 2014

In Moondance on Red, we meet Mason Reid – a man with a secret, who has been burned before – and Maggie Dupree – a woman who escaped a nasty marriage and a bad divorce with no intention of keeping that to herself.

Almost immediately you fall in love with Reid in his cowboy boots and sometimes gentle, often authoritative demeanor. His attitude is only trumped by Dupree’s spunk and sass.

A chance encounter brings the two together and right away, the reader is transported into their antics, ups and downs, and very sensual, kinky time in bed.

With a lot of action, conversation and several twists and surprises (and secret conversations), this book is a read in one-sitting one. Salem Archer does a fabulous job in her debut conveying accents and dialogue, and her descriptions of the locale transport the reader to Asheville, Knoxville, and my most favorite – an idyllic, romantic, ledge on a cliff to see the moon.

FIVE stars, and excited to read more from this author….

I am just wondering if we will get to read more about Trent – the never settling down, ever present, wild and crazy bachelor – in book 2.


Michael Triplett reviewed Moondance in Red
Moondance is the summer read you’ve been looking for. July 20, 2014

Moondance in Red is an excellent addition to the genre of Southern romance/erotica. Most of the characters are believable and relatable: Maggie Lynn Dupree is the modern day Southern belle—tough, sexy, and desirable . . . willing to let the “right” man take control. And we probably all have a crazy Uncle Charlie. The one unbelievable character—and justly so—would be Mason Reid; after all, not too many people have wet dreams about the troglodytes living in the caves of the Blue Ridge Mountains, so Mason’s perfectness is a needed attribute of the novel, especially in this genre. Archer does leave you wondering what will happen to Maggie in the next installment of the trilogy. At the beginning, Maggie establishes a need to prove herself: “Today she would start showing her husband that she could be more than just a live-in maid.” Then, she meets Mason Reid and she slips from tough, contemporary woman into Southern-belle mode. This novel is great for a quick if “gushing” release (i.e. the way in which we read novels to escape from our everyday lives) or a study of feminism in the South.author.


Kim B. Nelson reviewed Moondance in Red
Couldn’t put it down June 16, 2014

Well written book with strong characters that are easy to relate to and fall in love with. The story grabs your attention from the first chapter and makes it impossible to put down. I am looking forward to more books from this author. She has become one of my favorites.


Kathy Williamson reviewed Moondance in Red
Moondance was a fun read! I loved Maggie from the start July 8, 2014

Moondance was a fun read! I loved Maggie from the start. She was funny, smart, and wasn’t going to take any more crap from a man. At first, I didn’t like Mason. He was arrogant and seemed to be nothing more than a player. Once the secrets started to unfold and I started to see the real Mason, I fell in love with his character.I was really impressed with this author and it’s hard to believe this was her first novel. This book’s hard to put down, so be prepared. I can’t wait to read book two!


Kim W reviewed Moondance in Red
A Must Read! July 14, 2014

If you want to read a good story that leaves the pages sizzling this is the book for you. Moondance in Red is a wonderfully written book with engaging characters. You start liking Maggie in the first chapter and fall completely in love with her in the second. When Mason enters her life you want to smack him while at the same time find yourself rooting for him. I can’t wait for the second book in the series.[whohit]My Reviews[/whohit]